Stand Up

For what you believe in. Then send me some grace as I continue to do the same. I’m a 53 year old Aire’s female nurse with an opinion. You don’t want to light a match near that last sentence at times and that isn’t something I’m proud of.

I’ve been working on my defensive nature as this astrologer points out on a pretty regular basis I need to slay. Awesome, a flaw. Understanding via compassion, I’m up for it ….sometimes. When a lover lies to me and I’ve brushed it over with my end of the score card being of somewhat unapproachableness in nature if you’re a coward trying to come clean. (See?) Or silently reminding myself they don’t realize they are now going back on their word as the person tells me something and thinks I’ve forgotten our original agreement. I’ve held it in. Scolded myself as I must’ve deserved this kind of treatment for some reason unbeknownst to me as I do know I’ve been no angel in my early years. Meant no harm but didn’t always dot my I’s if I needed to do so.

But once a human crosses that line of 50 something happens. It’s time to fully accept myself for who I am as I accept my shortcomings as well. In so doing I stand up. I mean fully stand up. For who I am in the moment. For what I feel I’m worth fighting for above and beyond anyone else or their image of who I should be.

I’m not clear as to why people do what they do on a daily basis nor am I convinced most realize their words are wasted for unknown reasons. I don’t know why the truth is so difficult to get to but I do understand it’s hurtful when it’s not so.  As MLK so eloquently once said ‘I believe unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word.’

Leave a Reply

