3 things

I saw a bunch of homesick kids last summer …. summer camp …. kids of all ages … there’s nothing worse than that old feeling of missing your mom (dad/parent/guardian) and it’s usually visa versa from her end as well …. but from the nurses end – mine – it’s a challenge unlike most others. Add a medical element to it all and there’s another obstacle to clear. My experience has showed me the child who faces this and makes it till the end of camp is often the one who grew the most and as a result it shows in their walk/smile/eyes. And it’s contagious. I found a simple tool to use for homesickness.  To help redirect the mind when it’s steering the emotions to complete upset you need to know 3 good things. Ask the kid to tell you 3 good things about their day. 3 good things she looks forward to. 3 good things. And I’d have to say it often amidst many tears where the subject is ‘I miss my mom and I wanna call her’ and more upset. So, change the subject.  It will now be ‘good things’.  So when homesick is brought up (every other minute) my role is to model the simple use of the tool of  strong communication. Before I listen to you I wanna hear 3 good things. And I’ve gotten good at prompting the child who can’t think of a single thing to be thankful for ……. Tell them to me. Feel that good place. That’s what happens. They accidentally feel good just for a split second …. and it puts a chink in the darkness of sad/gloom/negative. The cool thing is … it simply works. Its easy. It’s a remedy I gotta package and now sell. It might help kids enjoy their childhood a bit better.

Leave a Reply

