today we relocated the mice

Working in the camp infirmary this summer I told the maintenance man I had mice. He gave me a mouse trap. I decided I’d just live in harmony w the few mice I saw in the dark of the night as the thought of setting a single trap was something I wasn’t gonna do. I just asked them to run along if I spotted one. I felt we had a pact of sorts.  My little dog was in my frame of mind as well …. she wouldn’t even chase em. I have learned a bit about the white footed mouse in that it carries Lyme disease (via ticks) so I do have an added respect the physical discomfort/disease they can play a part in.

Here I am again. In their home yet a bit farther out in the woods. Those little creatures look for any kind of warm spot (under mattresses for starters) to hunker down for the winter. So we moved the mattresses. 80 of em. The students coming up from the city to sleep in the little huts this fall will have a bit less cush and a lot less tiny creature feet scurrying around. Last fall we learned it really freaks a city kid out to have something chewing under their pillow/bed (in screened huts). I don’t blame em. That’s a memory I don’t want.

I tend to learn from my job things I’d never thought of ….. and this go round w the mice it’s ‘dryer sheets’ (Bounce) …. mice hate em. Think you have a mouse and don’t wanna set a trap? Grab a box of ‘Bounce’ and place em in corners of the room and the mice will simply go elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

